My 500 Words – #5

I have missed a lot of days.  There has been so much going on.  My house flooded…twice!  And of course, the main floor that flooded is completely carpeted.  My daughter has also had the flu, so I’ve been running around the house with Lysol disinfecting wipes.  The engine also seized in the car.  It’s been wonderful here!  Oh, apparently the public school my little girl goes to may be going on strike.  Actually, it may be a province wide strike.  If this is the case, I will be starting to homeschool her.  At least that way if they strike, she won’t miss school or speech therapy.

I do however have a photo I’d like to share with you!
My little guy has been asking for a “mohog” for months now.  I finally gave him one.  This photo is almost strange simply because he’s such a calm little boy!

1907608_831882070160012_1508601892_n

So, what I wanted to write about today is something I’m watching called the Mom Conference.  There are a bunch of interviews you can watch and so far, it’s wonderful for some helpful tips.  Take a look:
The Mom Conference.

I’m currently listening to Amy McCready’s interview.  My problem, which I already know, is that I’m too protective, or paranoid depending how you look at it.  I’ve been through a lot in my life.  So so much.  I try my best to keep the kids safe.  I don’t want them to play outside alone.  I don’t want them to walk to the bus alone.  I don’t want them to get hurt.  I don’t want them to do so many things or be away from me because it scares me.  I am so afraid that something will happen to them and the need to protect them is so strong.  This world is a hard, painful place.  There is so much negativity that happens.  I don’t watch the news because of this.  This city I live in has been called “Little Detroit” (though I’ve never been to Detroit, is it that bad?) and that there is more crime based on size, compared to Vancouver BC.  That is scary to me.  There is a lot that happens in Vancouver that I do see just on facebook alone!  I try my best to keep them germ free and healthy.  But I know that all the worrying plus what I deal with just in my everyday life, it takes a toll on me.

As for the conference and what Amy is saying here.

Leave a Reply

