Coca Cola: Bring out the racism?

I saw something this morning that kind of made my blood boil.  I was looking through facebook and came across a friend of mine who posted this commercial, saying it was out of line.  The comments were horrible; so full of racism.  It really saddened me…and disgusted me.  Of course, I am from Canada.  I’m sure I’ll get my own amount of crap from this entry, but I have no problem standing out to voice my opinion.  Especially after reading the comments!

Some of the comments I read were about language, that it’s meant to be sung in English.  I only speak English.  Even Canada’s second language, French, I don’t speak French.  Regardless, I see no problem with it being sung in a different language…any language.  If you’re Canadian, if you aren’t Canadian but proud to be here, definitely sing the anthem!  Canada is a wonderful place!  Personally, I’ll vacation to other countries, but Canada is my home.  This is where my heart is.

It was mostly the comments about the terrorists, jews, Mexicans, etc singing the song, and the fact that these people are apparently not racist.  Please explain how that makes sense?  We are all human.  We all have the same organs, the same skin though different colors.  Different sexualities, eye color, height, hair color, different ethnicities, backgrounds in general, and different experiences.  Sure, some people from certain races have done some unforgivable things.  Bin Laden, 9/11 (depending on the version you believe), any suicide bombers, etc etc.  For the most part, it’s one or two races.  African Americans are often blamed for the war in our own backyards, and on the streets.  I could go on, but I choose not to simply because it is not the race that has committed the crime, it’s the person.  If you can honestly believe for even a single second that Caucasians have never done anything wrong, than you my friend, are blind, and that’s very unfortunate!

I personally quite like this commercial.  I think it’s sung beautifully!  The different languages give it an added touch.  The touch of oneness in the country.  Respect that, be proud of that.  Be proud that you are a country who can accept others for who they are inside, not what’s on the outside.  People are so quick to judge and point the finger that they forget their own hands are far from being clean.  Racism?  Are we seriously still doing this?  Close your eyes or turn off the lights.  We’re all the same color.  That co worker you and you buddies hang out at the sports bar, he could be a gay man for all you know.  You, if you’re that “homophic” type, you are friends with this man, you accept him…until you find out he’s gay.  How does that change things?  Same goes with race.  How can a color change a human that much?  The answer?  It can’t.  Until these other races are being born with two heads, 3 legs, and a tail, nothing changes.  Pull your heads out of your ass and open your eyes.  You are not more superior that the person beside, the person in the country next to you, or the person your pointing the finger at.  The cause of the war on our streets is far from being races or sexuality…you are the cause.  The one pointing the finger placing blame on others.  You are the one with hatred in your heart, and freely expressing it to those you see fit to take it.  This is not just America, this is world wide!

What a different world this would be if people were actually accepting of others!

“When I was born I was black, when I grew up I was black, when I’m sick I’m black, when I go out in the sun I’m black, when I’m cold I’ll be black, and when I die I’ll be black. But you, when you where born you were pink, when you grew up you were white, when you’re sick you’re green, when you go out in the sun you turn red, when you’re cold you turn blue, and when you die you’ll turn purple. And you have the nerve to call me colored?”

Stop the hatred and find a happiness instead of destroying others lives with something they have no control over!

8 thoughts on “Coca Cola: Bring out the racism?

  1. A day late and a dollar short. The video on here no longer works. And I’m curious now of what it was. But in regards to racism, I’ve had to deal with that all my life, as I am from a mixed family and been called numerous things. It’s a shame it exists.

  2. I thought it was a good commercial. Weird how different things stir up emotions in people. I feel oblivious to it all sometimes, but quite content I don’t see things like others see races, sexuality, religion.. I just see people.

  3. I thought this was a really nice commerical. Considering that the U.S. is a country made up of immigrants, the negative reactions to this is really ridiculous. I like your comment, “it is not the race that has committed the crime, it’s the person.” If more people can get that into their heads, what a difference it would make!

Leave a Reply

