Homeschooling & Speech Pathology

download
It’s done, it’s official.  Almost.
Yesterday, I made the first step and called the school that my nephew did his homeschooling through.  This is an amazing school.  I actually finished my grade 12 through them.  It covers all of Canada, so if you’re thinking of homeschooling your child/ren (grades kindergarten to 12) or finishing your education, it’s completely free!  http://Ebus.ca (opens in new window)
I called and spoke with the principal.  I explained the situation Adam is in and asked if they accept children in the middle of the school year.  Yes, they do.  He initially wanted to put him in the special needs class, which is currently full.  I insisted I wanted to start him on homeschooling as soon as possible to avoid failing grade 1.  So we came to an agreement and have placed him in a regular grade 1 class.  I should be hearing from his teacher by Tuesday to create his course plan, etc.  He was very concerned with Adams speech problems though.

That being said, since I’ll be taking him out of school, he’ll stop getting the speech therapy he’s receiving at school currently.  The Child Development Center only helps children up to 5 years old.  I took at look the the Health Unit’s website and again, they only help children up to 5 years old.  I decided to start searching for private speech pathologists and did come across one who works independently.  I sent her an email and am awaiting a reply.  My problem is the financial aspects of a private speech pathologist.  We live paycheck to paycheck as is, we can’t afford much in terms of a pathologist.  Depending what she tells me her price is, I may get in touch with the government and see if there’s any type of coverage he can receive as the pathologist from the Child Development Center did classify his speech problems as severe.  If you take a look at my previous entry, it gets a little more into detail as to what he’s been dealing with at school.  Friday he came home saying he hates school.  This is not acceptable to me.

I’ve started my research on homeschool.  I’m definitely up for homeschooling him…whatever I need to do to help my children have the best future possible!  I did come across a lot of very good educational websites with educational games, printouts, a program that allows you to create flash cards to print, games to print out, etc.  I also looked over the government website and saved a bunch of files regarding homeschooling laws.  I guess what Adam’s going to be doing is classified as distance education as he’ll still have a teacher and what not.  For example, this is the information from the BC government site:

 

Traditional Homeschooling

Public School Distance Learning

Independent School Distance Learning

Must meet the Learning Outcomes of the B.C. curriculum.

No

Yes

Yes

Learning must be supervised by a B.C. teacher.

No

Yes

Yes

Students must use district- or school-approved resources.

No

Yes

Yes

Student progress must be evaluated by a teacher; report cards are to be prepared by a teacher 3 times a year.

No

Yes

Yes

Must participate in Provincial testing (Graduation Exams and Foundation Skills Assessment, grades 4 & 7).

No

Yes

Yes

Religious texts / resources may be used.

Yes

No

Yes

Status of student with school.

Registered

Enrolled

Enrolled

I’m quite aware of what I need to accomplish with him now that I have also downloaded the handbook and what I must do with him, and how to do it.  I’ll admit, I’m nervous.  It’s a big step, but it’s a step that needed to be taken.  I’ll be calling the school on Monday to speak with Joyce (principal) to let her know what my plans are, as well as why and I hope she can understand where I’m coming from.  I don’t want to come off as if I’m putting blame on Adams teacher, but I need her to understand that he comes home sad most days saying he hates school and no one understands him.  He should not have to feel that way!
Thankful Grace is quite enjoying kindergarten.  I’m very happy with that.  Adam enjoyed kindergarten as well.  Lynnette is an amazing teacher though.  I do fear that I’ll be homeschooling both children once Grace starts grade 1 given her speech problems.  I’m going to work with her throughout the summer, see if I can get her better with her speech and pronunciation.  It’s tough, but it’s what’s best and that’s all that matters to me!

If you have any websites or information on speech pathology for homeschoolers, I’d be more than grateful to hear from you!
1044484_784834548198098_1400750320_n

One thought on “Homeschooling & Speech Pathology

  1. I know this was a long thoughtful decision you’ve made. It all sounds so interesting. I’ve read home schooling blogs of people already home schooling but not one ‘starting’ out. I’ll be following how you do and excited for Adam that he’ll have the attention he needs for his growth. Share this post in our group and check other home school sites, there is one in particular I enjoy hearing from LOTS.. Blessed Learners. I think you’ll enjoy connecting with her. I’ll be awaiting your next post with how you’re preparing this new journey in Adam’s life 🙂

Leave a Reply

